The Jewel Keepers: Albion - synopsis

by Elaine Bousfield


The Jewel Keepers is a magical fantasy that centres around two girls, separated by centuries of time, but united by a mysterious Jewel. The novel is set in Katie's world, the modern world of Britain, but we are also taken to Mortunda's world - the Celtic past of Britain when people lived in tribes and believed that the world around them was alive and magical. Mortunda's tribe is the Brigante and it was one of the largest tribes in pre-Roman Britain.

I have drawn on lots of historical research to paint Mortunda's world and although Mortunda herself is not an historical figure, there are people in the novel who are (especially in book two). The trilogy is set at the time when Albion was on the brink of being taken into the Roman Empire and explores what that might have been like for the different tribes, as well as following the story of the Jewel Keeper.

The Jewel Keepers is a story of power, religion, war, belief and friendship.

Albion - Book One

Why does Katie have strange things happening to her? Katie McIntyre is 13 years old, hears animals talk, sees strange lights floating above people's heads and recently an apparition of a Celtic fortress in her back garden. Then there was the coin inside the fortress, inscribed in ancient lettering, glittering red gold and bright. Katie's Nana, old and mentally unstable, insists that Katie is a Keeper of a magical Jewel that once held the key between the world of the Gods and the world of Humanity. Katie's destiny is to find the lost Jewel and bring it home.

In another time, centuries apart from modern Britain, another young girl is searching for her destiny. Mortunda, Princess of the Brigante Tribe is destined to be Queen. Yet she feels a different calling - that of the Doeth Seronydd, Albion's order of Seers and wisdom bringers. But with the threat of Roman invasion growing daily, is it the right decision for Mortunda? Lastly why is it that on the return to Mona they are followed by dark sinister forces bent on retrieving the object that Lovernicus, leader of the Seronydd is guarding with his very life?

The first in the trilogy, Albion is a Celtic Holy Grail story that takes the reader from modern day Britain to Celtic Albion and beyond.

Mona - Book Two

This is currently being written.